10 U.S. Women's Open Champs to Play at NCR C.C.

By Amy Morton, USGA

| Aug 17, 2022 | LIBERTY CORNER, N.J.

10 U.S. Women's Open Champs to Play at NCR C.C.

4th U.S. Senior Women's Open Home | Tickets

Ten U.S. Women’s Open champions are among the field of 120 players who will play in the 4th U.S. Senior Women’s Open Championship, which will be contested Aug. 25-28, 2022, at NCR Country Club in Kettering, Ohio.

“This field includes some of the most talented golfers of their generation,” said John Bodenhamer, chief championships officer for the USGA. “They will all compete at a course steeped in history in a bid to hoist a coveted USGA trophy and add their name to the Hall of Champions along with many legends of the game. These players will surely find NCR Country Club to be a worthy stage that will showcase their skill and competitive nature.”

The list of decorated players in the field includes defending champion and three-time U.S. Women’s Open champion Annika Sorenstam (1995, 1996 and 2006). In 2021, her first year of eligibility, Sorenstam shot a final-round 68 to secure an eight-stroke victory over fellow Swede Liselotte Neumann in the 3rd U.S. Senior Women's Open at Brooklawn Country Club in Fairfield, Conn.

U.S. Senior Women’s Open champions Helen Alfredsson and Laura Davies are also among those fully exempt into the field. Davies won the inaugural championship in 2018 at Chicago Golf Club in Wheaton, Ill. In 2019, Alfredsson topped Trish Johnson and Juli Inkster by two strokes to capture the 2nd U.S. Senior Women’s Open at Pine Needles Lodge & Golf Club in Southern Pines, N.C. The 2020 championship was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Ten U.S. Women’s Open champions filed entries for the championship: Amy Alcott (1980), JoAnne Carner (1971, 1976), Davies (1987), Jane Geddes (1986), Inkster (1999, 2002), Neumann (1988), Alison Nicholas (1997), Sorenstam (1995, 1996 and 2006), Hollis Stacy (1977, 1978 and 1984) and Jan Stephenson (1983). Geddes won her U.S. Women’s Open at NCR Country Club, defeating Sally Little in an 18-hole playoff.

The current field features some of the most highly decorated female USGA champions in history. Carner has won more USGA championships than any other woman with eight, followed by Ellen Port and Carol Semple Thompson, who have each won seven USGA titles. Semple Thompson competed in her first U.S. Senior Women’s Open last year, while Carner has competed in all three previous iterations, shooting her age (79) at Chicago Golf Club in 2018.

Of those who are exempt, 41 played in the 3rd U.S. Senior Women’s Open Championship at Brooklawn Country Club. The field also includes 76 players who earned entry into the championship through 18-hole qualifying at 16 sites nationwide between July 11 and Aug. 8. For full qualifying results, please visit usseniorwomensopen.com.

Three players in the field hail from the host Buckeye State, including Cheryl Fox, of Tiffin, Adele Snyder, of Lebanon, and Suzi Spotleson, of Canton. Fox and Snyder both qualified at Jefferson Country Club in Blacklick, Ohio. Spotleson secured her spot through a qualifier at Lehigh Country Club in Allentown, Pa. She recently competed in the 2022 U.S. Senior Women’s Amateur in Anchorage, Alaska, where she advanced to the Round of 16.

The winner of the U.S. Senior Women’s Open earns a championship exemption for the next 10 years or through age 65 (whichever yields the higher number of exemptions), exemption into the 2023 U.S. Women’s Open Presented by ProMedica at Pebble Beach (Calif.) Golf Links, a gold medal and custody of the U.S. Senior Women’s Open Trophy for one year. The total purse for the 4th U.S. Senior Women’s Open is $1 million. The winner will receive approximately $180,000.

The list of the players who will compete in the 2022 U.S. Senior Women’s Open:

Kristi Albers
Amy Alcott
Helen Alfredsson
Danielle Ammaccapane
Dina Ammaccapane
Cheryl Anderson
Sherry Andonian-Smith
Tina Barker
Jean Bartholomew
Dana Bates
Karen Bennett
Joy Bonhurst
Kelley Brooke
Avis Brown-Riley
Barb Bunkowsky
Audra Burks
Brandie Burton
Angela Buzminski
JoAnne Carner
Laura Carson
Helene Chartrand
Laura Coble
Lynne Cowan
Stefania Croce
Elaine Crosby
Kay Daniel
Laura Davies
Lisa Depaulo
Michelle Dobek
Moira Dunn-Bohls
Dana Ebster
Patricia Ehrhart
Sue Ertl
Michaelyn Farmer
Jamie Fischer
Cheryl Fox
Amy Fruhwirth
Jacqueline Gallagher-Smith
Karen Garcia
Jane Geddes
Eriko Gejo
Tonya Gill Danckaert
Tammie Green
Lisa Grimes
Tracy Hanson
Stephenie Harris
Mary Jane Hiestand
Gigi Higgins
Carin Hjalmarsson
Pat Hurst
Juli Inkster
Teresa Ishiguro
Becky Iverson
Nicole Jeray
Christa Johnson
Patricia Johnson
Cathy Johnston-Forbes
Rosie Jones
Laurel Kean
Susie Keane
Denise Killeen
Sally Krueger
Kathy Kurata
Judith Kyrinis
Martha Leach
Maggie Leef
Leta Lindley
Christine Lindsey
Martha Linscott
Theresa Mahlik
Yukako Matsumoto
Catriona Matthew
Michelle McGann
Jill McGill
Lisa McGill
Smriti Mehra
Wendy Modic
Noreen Mohler
Janet Moore
Anna Morales
Itsuko Moridaira
Barbara Moxness
Liselotte Neumann
Alison Nicholas
Catrin Nilsmark
Yuko Ogura
Julie Oxendine
Anne Marie Palli
Catherine Panton-Lewis
Jayne Pardus
Kristal Parker
Ellen Port
Pam Prescott
Michele Redman
Susie Redman
CJ Reeves
Marion Reid
Yuko Saito
Laura Shanahan Rowe
Kim Shek
Kaori Shimura
Yuka Shiroto
Pat Shriver
Adele Snyder
Annika Sorenstam
Leslie Spalding
Suzi Spotleson
Hollis Stacy
Jan Stephenson
Shelly Stouffer
Suzanne Strudwick
Lara Tennant
Carol Semple Thompson
Tina Tombs
Kris Tschetter
Karen Weiss
Maggie Will
Kimberly Williams
Sue Wooster
Sherry Wright