Championship Venue Broadmoor Golf Club, Seattle, Wash.
Opened 1927
Architect A. Vernon Macan
Dates of Championship Sept. 21-26
Field Size 132 players
Par/Yardage TBD
Entries Open Early Spring 2024
Eligibility Open to any female golfer who is 50 years of age as of Sept. 21 and whose Handicap Index® does not exceed 14.4.
Qualifying Qualifying over 18 holes will be held at to-be-determined sites between in August/September 2024
2023 Championship Sarah Gallagher, 50, of Canton, Ga., held off past USA Curtis Cup competitor Brenda Corrie Kuehn, 1 up, in the 18-hole final at Troon Country Club in Scottsdale, Ariz. Gallagher won in her first year of eligibility. This was Kuehn's second USGA final, having reached the championship match of the 1995 U.S. Women's Mid-Amateur before losing to Ellen Port, a 3-time Senior Women's Amateur champion. To read more, click here.
Quotable “I’m going to put it on the island in my kitchen. Actually no, I can’t do that, my kids will put stuff in it. I’ll have to put [the trophy] some place where they can’t fill it with who knows what.” -- Sarah Gallagher
Notable Events Held at Broadmoor Golf Club 1952 LPGA Women's Weathervane Tournament (Betsy Rawls)
1961 U.S. Girls' Junior (Mary Lowell)
1974 U.S. Women's Amateur (Cynthia Hill)
1984 U.S. Women's Amateur (Deb Richard)
1989 Pac-10 Conference Championship (Team: Arizona State; Individual, Christian Cevaer, Stanford)
1996 U.S. Senior Women's Amateur (Gayle Borthwick)
1999 Pac-10 Conference Championship (Team: Arizona State; Individual: Paul Casey, ASU)
2007 Pac-10 Conference Women's Championship (Team: Arizona State; Individual: Tiffany Joh, UCLA)
Numerous Seattle Opens: Champions included Byron Nelson (1945), Dave Marr (1961), Jack Nicklaus (1962) and Billy Casper (1964)
Previous U.S. Senior Women's Amateurs Held in Washington (2) 1984: Tacoma Country & Golf Club, Lakewood (Constance Guthrie)
1996: Broadmoor Golf Club, Seattle (Gayle Borthwick)
Fast Facts This will be the third consecutive U.S. Senior Women's Amateur to be contested in the Western part of the U.S., joining Alaska (2022) and Arizona (2023).
Notable U.S. Senior Women's Amateur Champions Maureen Orcutt (1962, 1966); Carolyn Cudone (1969-72); Dorothy Porter (1977, 1980-81, 1983); Alice Dye (1978-79); Marlene Stewart Streit (1985, 1994, 2003); Anne Sander (1987, 1989-90, 1993); Carol Semple Thompson (1999-2002); Diane Lang (2005-06, 2008); Ellen Port (2012-13, 2016), Lara Tennant (2018, 19, 2021)
Notable U.S. Senior Women's Amateur Runners-Up Glenna Collett Vare (1962); Ann Gregory (1971); Carolyn Cudone (1974-75); Alice Dye (1977, 1981, 1989); Cecile Maclaurin (1978-80); Marlene Stewart Streit (1986, 1988, 1990, 1995-96); Anne Sander (1991-92); Toni Wiesner (1997, 2000, 2008); Mina Hardin (2011), Sue Wooster (2018-19, 2022), Ellen Port (2021), Brenda Corrie Kuehn (2023)
Schedule of Play Saturday, Sept. 21 (Stroke play, Round 1, 18 holes)
Sunday, Sept. 22 (Stroke play, Round 2, 18 holes)
Monday, Sept. 23 (Round of 64, match play)
Tuesday, Sept. 24 (Round of 32/Round of 16, match play)
Wednesday, Sept. 25 (Quarterfinals/Semifinals, match play)
Thursday, Sept. 26 (Championship Match, 18 holes)
Match-Play Cut The low 64 scorers following stroke play will qualify for match play. If necessary, a playoff will be conducted to determine the final spots in the draw.
Future Sites 2025: The Omni Homestead Resort (Cascades Course), Hot Springs, Va./Sept. 13-18
2026: Portland Golf Club, Portland, Ore./Sept. 26-Oct. 1