U.S. Senior Open Fast Facts


| Jan 30, 2023 | Liberty Corner, N.J.

U.S. Senior Open Fast Facts

Venue SentryWorld, Stevens Point, Wis.
Dates of Championship June 29-July 2
Opened 1982
Architect Robert Trent Jones Jr. (renovation in 2014 by Robert Trent Jones Jr., Bruce Charlton and Jay Blasi; renovation in 2021 by Jones Jr. and Charlton)
Field Size 156 competitors
Yardage/Par 7,218 yards/Par 71
Course and Slope Rating 76.5/149
Tickets For ticket information and packages, click here
Eligibility Open to any professional and amateur golfer who is 50 years of age as of June 29 and whose Handicap Index® does not exceed 3.4.
Entries 3,066
Qualifying Qualifying will take place over 18 holes between May 10 and June 8 at 33 sites in 25 states.
2022 Championship Padraig Harrington held off a late Sunday charge from 2019 champion Steve Stricker to post a one-stroke victory at Saucon Valley Country Club's Old Course in Bethlehem, Pa. Harrington, who posted a 72-hole total of 10-under-par 274, became the first player from the Republic of Ireland to claim a USGA championship. U.S. Open champions Rory McIlroy and Graeme McDowell are both from Northern Ireland. To read more, click here.
Quotable "I think it's special for me to win this one just because I've never won a USGA event. I think that adds more than if you could turn around and win a different senior major. But because I was never a U.S. Open champion or a junior champion, it's great to come and win the senior one. It adds something that I never had in my career.” -- Padraig Harrington
Fast Fact Up to 30,000 flowers are used on the 16th hole at SentryWorld, which is dubbed the Flower Hole. For the 2019 U.S. Girls' Junior, the maintenance staff was able to arrange the flowers in such a way that it spelled out USGA. It is one of the most photographed holes in the game.
About SentryWorld SentryWorld, a public, parkland course in central Wisconsin, was developed by Sentry Insurance in 1982 as part of a sports complex that includes indoor tennis courts, banquet space and restaurants.
Hole by hole SENTRYWORLD
Hole 1:
460 yards (Par 4)
Hole 2: 506 yards (Par 4)
Hole 3: 185 yards (Par 3)
Hole 4: 372 yards (Par 4)
Hole 5: 514 yards (Par 5)
Hole 6: 487 yards (Par 4)
Hole 7: 234 yards (Par 3)
Hole 8: 391 yards (Par 4)
Hole 9: 463 yards (Par 4)
OUT: 3,612 yards (Par 35)
Hole 10:
611 yards (Par 5)
Hole 11: 355 yards (Par 4)
Hole 12: 182 yards (Par 3)
Hole 13: 419 yards (Par 4)
Hole 14: 576 yards (Par 5)
Hole 15: 457 yards (Par 4)
Hole 16: 202 yards (Par 3)
Hole 17: 366 yards (Par 4)
Hole 18: 438 yards (Par 4)
IN: 3,606 yards (Par 36)
TOTAL: 7,218 yards (Par 71)
Notable Past Events at SentryWolrd  1986 U.S. Women's Amateur Public Links (Cindy Schreyer) 
1993 Wisconsin State Senior Amateur (Archie Dadian)
2010 Wisconsin Women's Senior Amateur (Susan Lee Kolbe)
2019 U.S. Girls' Junior (Lei Ye)
Previous U.S. Senior Opens in Wisconsin (1) 2007: Whistling Straits, Sheboygan (Brad Bryant)
Notable U.S. Senior Open Champions Arnold Palmer (1981); Miller Barber (1982, 1984-85); Billy Casper (1983); Gary Player (1987-88); Lee Trevino (1990); Jack Nicklaus (1991, 1993); Tom Weiskopf (1995); Hale Irwin (1998, 2000); Allen Doyle (2005-06); Fred Funk (2009); Bernhard Langer (2010); Colin Montgomerie (2014); David Toms (2018); Steve Stricker (2019); Jim Furyk (2021), Padraig Harrington (2022)
Notable U.S. Senior Open runners-up a-William C. Campbell (1980); Gene Littler (1982); Arnold Palmer (1984); Gary Player (1986); Bob Charles (1988); Jack Nicklaus (1990, 1995); Chi Chi Rodriguez (1991); Hale Irwin (1996, 2004); Tom Watson (2002-03, 2006); Ben Crenshaw (2007); Fred Couples (2010); Fred Funk (2008, 2012-13); Mark O’Meara (2011); Colin Montgomerie (2015); Miguel Angel Jimenez (2016, 2018); Billy Mayfair (2016); Retief Goosen (2021); Mike Weir (2021), Steve Stricker (2022)
What Champion Receives -A gold medal
-Custody of the Francis D. Ouimet Memorial Trophy for ensuing year
-Exemption into 2024 U.S. Open at Pinehurst Resort & Country Club (Course No. 2)
-Exemptions into the next 10 U.S. Senior Opens
Schedule of Play Thursday, June 29 (18 holes, stroke play)
Friday, June 30 (18 holes, stroke play)
Saturday, July 1 (18 holes, stroke play)
Sunday, July 2 (18 holes, stroke play)
Cut Low 60 scorers and ties will play the final 36 holes
Playoff Should there be a tie after 72 holes, a two-hole aggregate playoff will take place immediately following play
Broadcast Schedule (All times ET) Thursday, June 29 (First Round)
Noon-3 p.m. (Golf Channel)
6 p.m.-8 p.m. (Golf Channel)
Friday, June 30 (Second Round)
Noon-3 p.m. (Golf Channel)
6 p.m.-8 p.m. (Golf Channel)
Saturday, July 2 (Third Round)
1 p.m.-2 p.m. (Peacock)
2 p.m.-6 p.m. (NBC)
Sunday, July 3 (Final Round)
Noon-2 p.m. (Peacock)
2 p.m.-5 p.m. (NBC)
Future Sites 2024: Newport Country Club, Newport, R.I./June 27-30
2025: The Broadmoor (East Course), Colorado Springs, Colo./June 26-29
2026: Scioto Country Club, Columbus, Ohio/TBD
2027: Oak Tree National, Edmond, Okla./TBD
2028: Crooked Stick Golf Club, Carmel, Ind./TBD
2029: Prairie Dunes Country Club, Hutchinson, Kan./TBD
2030: Spyglass Hills, Pebble Beach, Calif./TBD
2032: Saucon Valley Country Club (Old Course), Bethlehem, Pa./TBD

Oops! Something went wrong